Retrospective Celebrates Landmark Church’s Unique Legacy
The exhibit, entitled Corpus Christi Then & Now: A Beacon of Hope for Buffalo focuses on the historic, architectural and artistic importance of this magnificent church. The display is being presented in collaboration with the Father Justin Rosary Hour, celebrating The Life And Legacy Of Fr. Justin Figas: Fifty Years After His Passing; and The Am-Pol Eagle, Voice Of Polonia For Fifty Years.
The unique heritage will soon be featured in a special exhibit at the Karpeles Manuscript Library Museum Porter Hall, opening to the public on October 13, 2009 and running through November 29. Admission is free. The museum is open Tuesday – Sunday from 11:00a.m. – 4:00p.m.
Buffalo, New York – On June 13, 1909, Corpus Christi Church was dedicated with much pomp, ceremony and public attention. During the last century, this landmark house of worship has created a remarkable legacy befitting its location on the “Superman Corner” of Clark and Kent Streets on the city’s East Side. The parish’s visionaries include Rev. Hyacinth Fudzinski, first Pastor and Founder of the St Anthony of Padua Province of the Franciscan Order; Fr. Justin Figas, Founder of the Father Justin Rosary Hour, who broadcast his weekly radio address to a national audience from Corpus Christi parish; and Mother Colette Hilbert, Foundress of the Franciscan Sisters of St. Joseph and Hilbert College.
For Further Information Please Contact:
Christopher Kelly, Director
The Karpeles Manuscript Library Museum
453 Porter Ave. Buffalo, NY 14201
Robert Fronckowiak, Exhibit Chairman
Rev. Anzelm Chalupka, Pastor
Corpus Christi Church